Are You Disrupting Your Hormones? Things You Need To Know!

I am sure that by now you have heard about all the chemicals we are subjected to on a daily basis. Chemicals are in everything; our clothing,  our food, our cleaning products and our cosmetics.
However, did you know that these chemicals can also be hormone disruptors? Yes, hormone disruptors! As a woman going through menopause the last thing I need is disrupted hormones! Geezz… all that work at trying to keep my hormones balanced and a spritz of Windex can simply ruin it for the day!
Menopause is not my only motivation for eliminating as many chemicals as possible from my daily life though. I have a horrible genetic profile … Cancer runs through my family like water runs through a river.

I am a cancer survivor myself. In 1991, I was diagnosed with uterine cancer which resulted in a hysterectomy. I was the fortunate one in the family who gets to live and tell about it.

So hear I go … yelling and screaming to rid yourself and your household of as many chemicals as humanly possible. Sure, they’re not only in the things I mentioned above they are also in;

  • The air we breath
  • The water we bathe in
  • The water we swim in
  • The vehicles we drive even contain chemicals, inside and out
On that note, we cannot eliminate every single chemical we are exposed to. However, we can drastically reduce the chemicals contained in the products we use every day.
The Environmental Working Group has released a list of 12 Hormone-Altering Chemicals which proves as a very good list to help you get started.
The EWG lists:
  • BPA; found in many food cans are lined with BPA, receipts, since thermal paper is often coated with BPA. Plastics marked with a “PC,” for polycarbonate, or recycling label #7
  • Dioxin; found in meat, fish, milk, eggs and butter
  • Atrazine; found in the majority of corn crops in the United States, and consequently it’s a pervasive drinking water contaminant
  • Phthalates; found in plastic food containers, children’s toys (some phthalates are already banned in kid’s products), and plastic wrap made from PVC, which has the recycling label #3.
  • Perchlorate; found in produce, milk and drinking water
  • Fire retardants; found in toxic-laden house dust, foam furniture, old carpet (the padding underneath may contain PBDEs)
  • Lead; found in old paint and drinking water
  • Arsenic; found in food and drinking water
  • Mercury; found in seafood
  • Perfluorinated chemicals (PFCs); found in non-stick pans, stain and water-resistant coatings on clothing, furniture and carpets.
  • Organophosphate pesticides; Found in pesticides on produce
  • Glycol Ethers; found insolvents in paints, cleaning products, brake fluid and cosmetics.
Are you worried yet? You should be.
Here are a few things that I have incorporated in my mission to rid my family and household of toxic chemicals. I do have to admit though, I’m selfish in this task, in the sense that I’m in menopause, I’m a cancer survivor and I certainly hope to stay that way!
  • I started eating a totally organic, real food diet (no processed foods and no fast food). That is first and foremost! Drop the sodas, replace with properly filtered water. I do have a confession though, I still love my beer! I simply refuse to rid myself of this guilty pleasure, just saying.
  • I switched to all natural cleaning products;
  • I changed out all my shampoos, conditioners, creams and lotions to all natural brands;
  •  I stopped wearing make-up! Well, honestly, I’ve never been much of a make-up wearer. I usually save the make-up for special occasions, like date night with Mr. R, family reunions, weddings and funerals. However, when I do wear make-up I use all natural products;
  •  You will never, ever see pesticides in or around my home. Instead, I use all natural products to eradicate any unwanted little critters.

In closing, for the sake of your hormones, the environment and your family, please reduce the chemicals you use on a daily basis. Please …

Have you started to eliminate chemicals from your home?

See you in the comments,

sign3

Leave a Reply

