Do You Love Chocolate Cupcakes? This Is For You!

 

I’m not one who generally has a sweet tooth. Mr. R, absolutely! Me, not so much. There is also that promise about quitting sugar I made to myself 3 years ago. The good news! I have kept my promise. The bad news! I am not motivated to bake!

However, every once in a while Mr. R begs (read “pleads”) me to bake something, anything! A baker I am not, so I revert to my old standbys, Cookies or Cake. That’s about as good as my baking skills get, well, at least if you want it to actually be edible.


Today I decided on Cupcakes since I bought this awesome set of decorating tips and tools I haven’t had the opportunity to use yet. I have a new found passion for decorating cakes and cupcakes. I felt like this was the perfect time to practice my skills, as limited as they are. However, I am an artist and artists create … so I set out to make my go to Chocolate Cupcakes with Vanilla Buttercream Frosting.

The Chocolate Cake recipe I use makes a very moist, fluffy and delicious cake. The Vanilla Buttercream Frosting is like a fluffy cloud sitting on top of that cupcake. It’s so light and airy with just the right amount of sweetness yet dense enough for piping.

Thank goodness for Food.com! Thank goodness for Emily Passaro and C. Taylor for posting their recipes there! You guys don’t know how many times these recipes have save my ass!

Best Chocolate Cake Ever!
Courtesy of Emily Passaro and Food.com

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 3⁄4 cup unsweetened cocoa
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 cup hot coffee
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
Directions:
  1. Sift together dry ingredients in a large mixing bowl.
  2. Add oil, coffee, and milk; mix at medium speed for 2 minutes.
  3. Add eggs and vanilla; beat for 2 more minutes. Batter will be thin.
  4. Pour into 2 greased and floured 9 inch cake pans.
  5. Bake at 325 for 25-30 minutes.
  6. Cool cakes for 15 minutes before removing from pans. Cool completely on wire racks.
  7. To make the icing, combine the milk and flour in a saucepan and cook until thick, stirring often to prevent it from being lumpy. Cover and refrigerate until cool.
  8. In a mixing bowl, beat butter, shortening, sugar, and vanilla until creamy.
  9. Add chilled milk/flour mixture and beat for 10 minutes.
  10. Frost cake after is it completely cool.
  11. Refrigerate cake until just before serving
 
 
Sprinkles Vanilla Buttercream Frosting
Courtesy of C. Taylor and Food.com
Ingredients:
  • 1 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 3 1⁄2 cups confectioners’ sugar
  • 1 teaspoon milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1⁄8 teaspoon salt

Directions:

  1. In a bowl combine butter, sugar and salt. Beat till blended.
  2. Add the milk and vanilla and beat for an additional 3 to 5 minutes or until smooth and creamy.



Is baking not your forte? Do you have a go to recipe to share?

See you in the comments,

sign3

Leave a Reply

