Guess What I Found in the Cheese Case?

 

I just love cheese … don’t you? I was at Trader Joe’s this weekend perusing the cheese case when I heard a young boy, maybe 8 years old, speaking to his Momma in French. French is a non-fluent, stumble through second language of mine. My curiosity peeked as I stood there pretending I wasn’t listening. Don’t judge me. There aren’t too many people in Columbia, SC who speak French.

 

This young man was helping his Momma pick out a suitable cheese for the evening table. He went on to tell her that what he missed most of France were the cheeses. The United States didn’t have too many good choices. I saw that this young man would become a cultured gentlemen with a solid knowledge of all things cheese. He loved it as much as I do.

In search of a new cheese to try myself, I was subtle but very attentive as to what he would choose. Suddenly, he became very excited and that’s where I lost him. He was so excited he was speaking much faster than I could comprehend. So, I faked my perusal of the cheese case to gain a few minutes. He pulled out this interesting looking package. The package read Délice de Bourgogne. Huuummm, interesting and a cheese I have never had the pleasure of sampling.I waited for them to move on with their shopping so I, too, could make an exciting cheese purchase. It was a soft-ripened, triple cream cheese much along the lines of a good Brie. I made my purchase and tallied home.

That evening, I made a charcuterie platter using the Délice de Bourgogne and paired it with marinated olives, artichoke hearts, smoked salmon, Sumo mandarin oranges and a sliced baguette. All I can say is C’est Magnifique!

The Délice de Bourgogne was creamy, fluffy and smooth like butter. At first taste, it was like a very light blue cheese, then a hint of mushroom, a slight smoky taste with a subtle sweet finish. Man, Oh, Man. I was in love!

Wikipedia states:

Délice de Bourgogne is a French cow’s milk cheese from the Burgundy region of France. It was first created in 1975 by Jean Lincet at Fromagerie Lincet. It is a soft-ripened triple-cream cheese. The cheese is rich and creamy due to the cheese-making process where cream is added to the milk during the cheese process (see “Triple cream“).

    • White & bloomy rind
    • Homogeneous paste – from ivory to pale yellow color
    • Aromas of mushrooms near the rind
    • Fine and delicate texture – mild and slightly
Don’t make the same mistake I did and devour the whole wedge as soon as you bring it home! I have since learned that Délice de Bourgogne is at it’s peak when the rind collapses into the cream. As they say, “Good things come to those that wait!”
Délice de Bourgogne is also listed on BuzzFeed’s List of The Best Food Gifts under $20!
If you are a cheese connoisseur, such as myself, I highly recommend that you add Délice de Bourgogne to your evening table.
 
Have you found an interesting cheese and fell in love?
See you in the comments,
sign3

 

Leave a Reply

