Oy! It’s the Tomatillo! Biggest Zinger in the World!


Reminder: Public voting for Round One begins TOMORROW and runs until March 21st! If you think my entry is worthy, I’d appreciate you following this link and voting for me! This is gonna be soooo awesome!

Oy! I’m starting to work on my recipe for Round Two of the #Chopped Home Challenge and in my basket I find:

  • Sargento® 4 Cheese Mexican Blend
  • Corn tortillas
  • Tomatillos or store-bought salsa verde
  • Chicken thighs
Well, the ingredients sound simple enough except … the tomatillos because you know I’m not going for the store bought salsa verde. I’ve never, ever used a tomatillo. For some reason, they intimidate me. I know, right? Snarky, crassy me is intimidated by a fruit! This simply cannot be so!
So on with my researcher hat and let’s get to work. Wikipedia defines the tomatillo as follows:

The tomatillo (Physalis philadelphica), also known as the Mexican husk tomato, is a plant of the nightshade family bearing small, spherical and green or green-purple fruit of the same name.

Tomatillos originated in Mexico and were cultivated in the pre-Columbian era.[1] A staple of Mexican cuisine, they are eaten raw or cooked in a variety of dishes, particularly salsa verde.

And also states:

Tomatillos were domesticated in Mexico before the coming of Europeans, and played an important part in the culture of the Maya and the Aztecs, more important than the tomato.[2] The specific name philadelphica dates from the 18th century.

Wow! They date back to the 18th century. How cool is that. Now I’m totally curious …
I did a Google search for some ideas and pretty much got one million and one ways to make salsa verde, which I happen to love. But, this is a #Chopped Home Challenge! I have got to get creative!
I also read:
  • They tend to be mushy when fried,
  • You have to really be careful if you roast them,
  • To eat them raw just sounds gross to me, and,
  • You’re pretty much stuck making salsa verde
 I’m screwed! This is #Chopped! I really wish I had a Hispanic friend that has all her Abuela’s old world recipes right now, I really, really do!
But, alas, my Hispanic friends don’t really know how to cook and if they do it’s pretty much Mexican-American. I’m not opposed to Mexican-American but, people, this is #Chopped we’re talking about. I’m on the verge of stalking Hispanic customers at the market to pick their brains about tomatillos. Pray for me…
Stay tuned while snarky Mrs R goes head to head with the illustrious tomatillo. Game on!
 

Reminder: Public voting for Round One begins TOMORROW and runs until March 21st! If you think my entry is worthy, I’d appreciate you following this link and voting for me! This is gonna be soooo awesome

Do you have an old family recipe for tomatillos?

See you in the comments,

sign3

 

Leave a Reply

