A Journey In To MidLife: How to Find your Wings Again Part Three

I started researching menopause and natural ways to combat the 34 symptoms I was experiencing.  I found very, very little information and started to become discouraged until I came across @Hystersisters . Not only was I excited to finally be able to get some tried and true information, it was exciting to not feel so alone! Eureka! I’m normal!
Information in hand, I set out my game plan:

  • Nutrition;
  • Exercise;
  • Natural Progesterone Cream (I’m not a candidate for HRT, nor would I have gone that route due to having a hormonal cancer in the early 90s);
  • B vitamins;
  • Omega 3 supplementation;
  • Magnesium
Nutrition. I have always been a healthy eater. I love my veggies, fruits and proteins! I don’t like processed food and really never have. What I didn’t realize was the play that chemicals have on our hormones, which foods could contain hormonal disruptors and foods that provide plant based estrogens. I was obviously planning on packing in the latter just for the estrogen alone.  I switched to an organic, real food diet and started to see some small changes. I did feel better but that alone was not going to stop my symptoms.

 

Exercise.  I hate to exercise … I mean I loathe exercising. Exercising to me should be hiking in the mountains, walking along the beach or curling a few @CoorsLight. The unfortunate thing is my budget didn’t accommodate daily mountain hikes or walks on the beach. The good news, I was able to curl a few @CoorsLight daily which would attribute to my fabulous wrists and forearms. I know, I know … curling @CoorsLight will never be considered an Olympic sporting event and if it ever was I would definitely go for the gold!

Being the person I am, I figured I should at least consider some kind of exercise other than “curling” 😉 . After all, it was on my list and I never leave a list unfinished. So, I settled on yoga. I committed to 1 hour daily for 6 months. I did feel really good while doing yoga but I got bored fast, real fast. I did complete my 6 months but today I usually do poses that relieve tension, help promote sleep and I also meditate daily. I let the “curling” take care of the rest.

Natural Progesterone Cream. Now we’re getting somewhere! The first time I used this cream I was severely depressed, cried at the drop of a hat and was hell on wheels with Mr. R. The poor guy, I still don’t know how he made it through that! But, rubbing that cream on my arm for the first time lifted a dark, dank cloud and actually made me feel the best I’ve felt in a good couple of years. My hot flashes decreased as did my night sweats. My mood was still a bear but hey I was making progress, whatd’ya want. If you don’t believe me … come between me and my cream I’ll hurt you … badly! LOL

 
Vitamin B. They work wonders! They gave me a good boost of energy and really helped with the terrible fatigue I had been experiencing. I bragged so much about them that Mr. R had to get on the Vitamin B bandwagon with me!

Omega 3. Omega 3 has been known to aid in joint pain, depression, hot flashes, night sweats and osteoporosis. Although they do suggest the best way to get your daily Omega 3s is though diet. I just found that my appetite would not accommodate the amount of food I needed and fish/shellfish can definitely be a budget buster, hence the supplements … just for good measure, ya know. They also help keep this 50+ year old heart beating strongly!

Magnesium. The building block of all things human … the mineral that keeps all your cogs turning in the right direction. The holy grail of minerals! It wasn’t until I added magnesium to my 6 step arsenal that life started to feel “normal” again. It was an awaking of sorts. My mind started to clear, I never felt calmer and I was less moody! I felt another shroud of menopause despair lift away. I was actually able to control my anxiety and panic attacks. My life started to become happy again.

Sidebar: Magnesium deficiency is very prominent in today’s society. We simply do not eat enough of magnesium rich foods. If you suffer from any mental disabilities, i.e. anxiety, panic attacks, depression you could very well need to add magnesium to your diet. I have family and friends who have taken my suggestion to start taking magnesium and they have all come back to me to let me know how much of a wonder this gem of a mineral is.

 Having conquered the menopause challenge …. I felt empowered and couldn’t wait to get to the next step! Building confidence in myself once again.
Please note, that my six (6) step plan works for me. I cannot certify that it will work for everyone as we are an individual species with individual needs. However, this bitchy, crying, sweaty, tired and hopeless woman was a changed person as a result of it!

Have you had a hard time with menopause?

See you in the comments!
 sign3

2 thoughts on “A Journey In To MidLife: How to Find your Wings Again Part Three

Leave a Reply

