I Fear the #Chopped Kitchen!!

 

 

Public voting for Round One begins on February 29th and runs until March 21st! If you think my entry is worthy, I’d appreciate you following this link and voting for me! This is gonna be soooo awesome!

I’m very excited to announce that I am participating in the #FoodNetwork #Chopped Home Challenge this year!

I love cooking and have dreamed of becoming a chef with my own restaurant. However, when I think about the 18+ hour days in a hot, steamy kitchen I have to step back and say “no, thank you”. I can blissfully enjoy cooking in my own kitchen, blogging my recipes, success and failures and be just as satisfied, especially at this age.

That is why I decided to participate in the #Chopped Home Challenge, it’s the modern day equivalent to submitting a recipe into Taste of Home Magazine but waaaay better! To win the #Chopped Home Challenge would be like winning the blue ribbon, a vindication of my culinary talent. To be able to participate in a cook off at the #Chopped kitchen would put me over the top but I totally fear the “televised” portion of this win. I’m not the most graceful, politically correct kinda of woman. I’m a little loud, crass and sometimes pretty snarky. What if I’m consumed with fear and freeze up? Or forget how to cook? Or trip on my own two feet? Or have something fly out of my mouth that was totally inappropriate? Or have it be the most exciting thing I have ever done on my culinary journey!!!

I decided to pull up my big girl pants and have it be the most exciting thing I have ever done on my culinary journey. Just get on with it, don’t over think it … after all, I haven’t won yet but I’ll never know if I don’t participate, right?

 My Round One: Comfort Food recipe is …. {drumroll} …..

 Today I present to you a savory French crepe stuffed with melted #Sargento sharp cheddar, caramelized leeks and mushrooms, thinly sliced braised chicken thighs topped with a cauliflower puree and finished with parsley and sriracha for a little added heat.

The sweetness from the leeks and mushrooms, the creamy lemon tartness of the cauliflower puree, the salty goodness from the chicken and cheese marries very well with the sriracha sauce. It’s an explosion of salty, sweet, tangy and heat all in one bite!

The crepes were handmade using in a traditional French recipe, the leeks and mushrooms where slowly caramelized in butter and brown sugar. The chicken thighs were seasoned and browned, the pan was deglazed with red wine, I added chicken stock to the pan and braised in the oven on a low temperature. The cauliflower was sauteed in butter until soft then blended with salt, pepper, milk, cream and lemon zest until creamy.

Public voting for Round One begins on February 29th and runs until March 21st! If you think my entry is worthy, I’d appreciate you following this link and voting for me! This is gonna be soooo awesome!
I will update this post for each of the 3 rounds with my recipe entry and public voting link. So please make sure you follow Simplify Life with Mrs R for all the updates!

Have you ever entered a recipe in a contest and came out a winner? I’d love to hear your stories!
See you in the comments,
sign3

Leave a Reply

