Panzanella, My Way!

This summer has started out pretty fiery here in South Carolina with highs in the 100’s and let me tell you, at the end of a long day the last thing you want is a hot meal prepared in a hot kitchen.

So, the other night I was rummaging through the fridge to see what I could put together that was cool, refreshing and filling. Of course, salad was my first option but I was a tad bit hungrier than that. I noticed I had some bread that had to be used up so I decided to make Panzanella, my way.
Panzanella is traditionally a Tuscan salad make of bread, tomatoes, onions and basil topped with olive oil and vinegar.
This is my take on this traditional dish. You know I can’t help myself. I always add my own twist to everything I prepare in the kitchen.
The ingredients are simple and can be modified with anything you have to use up in your fridge.
Instructions:
  • Cube up some leftover bread (any kind will do)
  • Toast bread cubes lightly in toaster oven until just lightly browned
  • Toss toasted cubes in a saute pan with a little olive oil (Extra Virgin is best) and season lightly with pepper, garlic and onion powder (do not add salt at this point)
  • Create a salad using pretty much anything you have on hand. I used mixed greens, green onions, cucumbers, cherry tomatoes (cut in half), sliced pickled beets and topped it with a little bit of feta I had leftover.
  • Toss the bread cubes into the salad and lightly dress with olive oil and your favorite vinegar.
  • Divide into serving bowls and top with Maldon Salt flakes

Dinner is now served! This is a very refreshing and filling salad. I’ve never been as satisfied with a salad as I have been with this one. I hope you like as much as I do!

Do you have a favorite salad you make with the little bits and pieces remaining in your refrigerator?

See you in the Comments!

Mrs. R

My ingredient selections:

amzn_assoc_placement = “adunit0”; amzn_assoc_enable_interest_ads = “true”; amzn_assoc_tracking_id = “simlifwitmrsr-20”; amzn_assoc_ad_mode = “auto”; amzn_assoc_ad_type = “smart”; amzn_assoc_marketplace = “amazon”; amzn_assoc_region = “US”; amzn_assoc_textlinks = “”; amzn_assoc_linkid = “1b8059cff99169792fc4a5c989d5cdfc”; amzn_assoc_emphasize_categories = “51569011,2619525011,2617941011,3760911,1000,16310101,3760901,1055398,3367581,284507,599858,2972638011,2619533011”;
//z-na.amazon-adsystem.com/widgets/onejs?MarketPlace=US

Leave a Reply

