Easy Homemade Bread & Butter Pickles

I love Homemade Bread & Butter Pickles! Something about them just screams “Grandma” and I loved my Grandma dearly before she left us to be in heaven. Well, of course, I still do but today our relationship is more on a spiritual plane and not a physical one. I do really miss her hugs though.
So, every year I make small batches (this is another thing Big Daddy will not eat so it’s just me) of homemade pickles with the abundance of cucumbers that I buy or grow in the summer. This year I was especially excited because I found a new way to eat these delicious little morsels. My new way of eating them every day is with Chicken Liver Pate just like I did in France.
I love to spread some pate on a leaf of Boston or Butter Lettuce, top with a couple of Bread & Butter Pickle slices, roll it up and enjoy! I also love to use the same method on a piece of freshly grilled Flat Bread. It all depends on what I have on hand at the time. This makes a delicious and easy lunch or midnight snack! 

Before I share my recipe with you, I have to tell a little story. Yesterday, I dug out  a copy of a 1893 edition of a cookbook called The Epicurean that I had put away. I love old, old cookbooks I think they tell a story as to how “real food” is supposed to be prepared and the cooking techniques that were used. Remember I am very vintage LOL! The history of food fascinates me. Well, while perusing through my cookbook I found a recipe for Gherkins (a/k/a Cornichons) which was, ironically, the same recipe I have used for the past few years! It goes to show in 119 years things haven’t changed too much!  There is much I want to share with you from this cookbook so get ready … it might the topic of quite a few posts in the future.

Anyway, enough blah, blah about my food history and on with the recipe!
Homemade Bread & Butter Pickles 

Note: You do not have to follow this recipe to a tee you can adjust the spices to meet you family’s taste. You can also reduce the amount of Sucanat, add a another star anise and another clove, if you prefer a more tangy pickle. 

  • 2 large organic cucumbers, sliced 1/4-inch thick (just the regular cucumbers)
  • 1 medium organic sweet onion (like Vidalia), thinly sliced
  • 1/4 cup sea salt
  • Just a little less than ½ cup of Sucanat
  • 1/2 cup distilled white vinegar
  • 1/4 teaspoons ground turmeric
  • 1 tablespoon mustard seeds
  • 1 tablespoon coriander seeds
  • 1/4 teaspoon celery seed
  • 1 star anise
  • 2 cloves
  • 1 organic clove of garlic (peeled and smashed but left as whole as smashed can get)

In a medium bowl, combine the cucumbers, onion and salt. Mix well. Cover the mixture with ice. Let stand at room temperature for two hours. This promotes a  nice, crispy pickle.
In a pot, bring sugar, vinegar and spices to a boil. Drain cucumbers and onions. Add to vinegar mixture and bring almost back to a boil. Remove from heat and cool.
You can store the pickles in an airtight container for up to a month in the fridge. So go ahead and make a few jars at a time if your family loves pickles. They will taste pickly (I know it’s not a word but I like it!) in just a couple of hours.
You see it’s just that easy!
Do you have an easy, no canning required, recipe you’d like to share?

See you in the Comments!

Mrs. R



amzn_assoc_placement = “adunit0”; amzn_assoc_enable_interest_ads = “true”; amzn_assoc_tracking_id = “simlifwitmrsr-20”; amzn_assoc_ad_mode = “auto”; amzn_assoc_ad_type = “smart”; amzn_assoc_marketplace = “amazon”; amzn_assoc_region = “US”; amzn_assoc_textlinks = “”; amzn_assoc_linkid = “ba40b2813becb8c2067a6669bf6fc5c1”; amzn_assoc_emphasize_categories = “51569011,2619525011,2617941011,165796011,3760911,1000,13900861,130,16310101,3760901,1055398,3367581,133140011,284507,195209011,599858,301668,1064954,2972638011,2619533011,672123011,229534,3375251,228013,165793011,377110011”; amzn_assoc_fallback_mode = {“type”:”search”,”value”:”Ingredients, directions, menopause, midlife, travel, charleston, denver, cherokee, grief, addiction, cancer, son, nephew, tea, tb, cup, cups, day trip, mrs, r, mrs r, cooking, travel, finances, DIY, projects, simplify, life, chaotic, world, carla, rexroth”}; amzn_assoc_default_category = “All”;
//z-na.amazon-adsystem.com/widgets/onejs?MarketPlace=US

4 thoughts on “Easy Homemade Bread & Butter Pickles

  1. Mrs R says:

    That's what I do … buy in bulk at the farmer's market. Oh how I love the Farmer's Market 🙂 I have to send my son a case every summer he loves them that much lol

    Like

  2. Leigh says:

    Homemade pickles and canning remind me of my grandmother, the Canning Queen! Thanks for sharing your recipe at the Healthy Living Link Party!
    Blessings, Leigh

    Like

Leave a Reply

