Real Food Snobbery: "Real Food is too Expensive, Who can Afford It?" Just Doesn’t Cut It With Me, Just Sayin

Today there has been a rush of food news circulating about which has inspired me to write this post.
If you follow our Facebook page you will see my confession to being a real food snob … now for those who know me it is not my personality to be a snob. In fact, I’m pretty down to earth, I live a simple life and I have recently dubbed myself as a minimalist. Less is more is an adage I hold on too! I’m not your regular girly girl, make up is not for me unless it’s a special occasion, most my clothes are purchased at thrift shops or our local flea market and if Big Daddy were to bring home a very large diamond to make me happy … I would ask him to return it for farm fencing, organic dirt and vintage cooking essentials … what can I say “I yam what I yam” as Popeye would say. However, there is one thing I simply will go to all lengths to obtain and that is quality, nutrient-dense “real food.” Even before my real food transition I was picky about the foods I brought to my kitchen and the health of my family … never was it in my vocabulary “we just simply can’t afford it” no matter what my budget looked like and we have had some really slim budgets to survive on.
This brings me to a post from Beth, a fellow blogger, I shared on our Facebook page, Dear Middle Class America: I Have a Bone to Pick With You… I totally feel for Beth … here’s a woman doing everything she can to feed her family “real food” on pocket change and she gets slammed by real food snobs … mind you I have to admire her because in her situation her family would probably be very good candidates for foods stamps and not once did she ever mention having to use food stamps to help feed her family, she uses pocket change, an occasional trip to the food bank and makes well informed decisions as to what she needs to spend a little more on and what she can skimp on all while feeding her family a nutrient dense diet.  I think Beth should be an inspiration to all of you folks who tout, “Real Food is too expensive, who can afford it?” If Beth can do it … well so can you … just sayin …
Katrina from The Poorganic Life (geeez I just love this blog title I’m jealous I didn’t think of it first lol) wrote a post entitled Poorganic Food at Food Lion?. Much to her surprise she found some amazing deals on organic real food at Food Lion … well kudos first to Katrina for the 3 mile walk and Poorganic finds! Secondly, kudos to Food Lion for supplying affordable organics! Buuuuttttt, however, I will still here folks tell me “Real Food is too expensive, who can afford it?” First off, if you are one of those folks and on food stamps … I do believe Food Lion accepts food stamps … just sayin …
Now, there are two other articles I feel worth sharing, New York Plans To Ban Sale Of Big Sugary Drinks and a post written by Mark Bittman from the New York Times entitled What Is Food? … while I am kinda on the fence about these articles, as, in my opinion, and I will use a quote Mark Bittman cited by Oliver Wendell Holmes, “your right to harm yourself stops when I have to pay for it” pretty much sums up my political agenda … However, I do feel our Constitutional Right to Freedom of Choice should be upheld and bans from the local to federal levels of Big Sugary Drinks should not interfere with our Freedom of Choice. I feel if government feels the urgency to create bans to protect the people they need to start with the manufacturers, conventional suppliers of produce and meat production and tighten the reins on what is called “acceptable ingredients” (which can totally be a whole other post). Also, if the government is truly concerned for its people I feel they should make processed convenience foods the pricey luxury items. After all don’t we pay a high price for convenience in other areas of our lives? Organic “real food” should be the less expensive option, cradled and cuddled with stringent care as to farming practices, sustainability and control of additives, chemicals and pesticides … so New York I guess if you really wanted to help your people you’d lobby Washington for a more practical agenda to make convenience the high price and real food the cheaper option … at least I would not hear folks constantly tell me “Real Food is too expensive, who can afford it?” anymore … just sayin …
The last article I’d like to share with you is an article from our local news station, WISTV, entitled A look at one of the most obese counties in South Carolina. I live half way between Orangeburg and Columbia and know the food choices here … most restaurants are fast food with one or two, well, maybe even three or four on every corner, if you want to pay a little more to eat out, you have sit down restaurants who tout fresh food only to find that it’s main supplier is the food service industry (which was one of the big things I didn’t like about SC when moving here years ago from South Florida). However, it is refreshing to hear about the occasional restaurant owner who is choosy about their ingredients and uses local produce and meat suppliers and some homemade ingenuity to satisfy its patrons with real honest to goodness food. However, all I need is a couple of fingers to count these restaurants and, of course, all that goodness comes at a price and can only be counted as a luxury item for us Middle Americans. In fact, I am such a real food snob that I don’t even eat out anymore … if I’m presented with a situation where I have to, I usually only order a bottled water (I have a fear of tap water lol), salad with olive oil and vinegar and I still get a little queasy knowing the produce is not organic and if I were to order a meal I’d pick it apart advising my party of the horrible ingredients used and how I could make this same dish much better at home and the nutritional value of it. I’m sure that makes me not a very good dining companion lol … this brings me to our Real Food Pioneer Challenge.
For all of you folks out there who tell me “Real Food is too expensive, who can afford it?” The Real Food Pioneer Challenge is a 6 week challenge written just for you! This is a challenge to gain prospective and awareness. It doesn’t cost anymore than you would normally spend in groceries but it does require effort and forethought (last I checked, those were free). If you go through the challenge and garner one new habit, i.e. you actually start to read ingredient labels (free) and you stop eating fast food (saves you money) and you replace one item in your pantry staples with a more nutritious choice (okay you might spend 20 cents more for organic yellow squash or $1.00 more for olive oil instead of vegetable oil but you saved more than that from not eating fast food, so let’s call this redistribution … last I checked redistribution was free) then I have done my job by heralding on my soap box of Real Food Snobbery. But, it all starts with YOU … YOU need to make the effort and garner the forethought to change your life … but simply put, the statement “Real Food is too expensive, who can afford it?” just isn’t flying with me anymore … I think it’s more of an excuse not to put forth effort or garner forethought because making change, even in the smallest of form, starts with YOU and excuses just don’t cut it … so if you are one that calls me a Real Food Snob .. then you are the one who has decided not to make change in your lifestyle … that’s cool … I just don’t want to be the one paying for your choices nor judged for mine… just sayin …


Have you put forth effort and forethought into your family’s health and nutrition? We would love love love to hear your story in the comment section below!

This post shared on Real Food Wednesday

Leave a Reply

