Prosciutto, Spinach and Three Cheese Pizza

When I was doing my weekly shopping at Earth Fare this week I had a little wiggle room in my budget to visit the charcuterie case. This made me a happy girl! I first fell in love with charcuterie while I was in Italy quite a few years ago.
While in Italy, there was nothing better than walking to the local butcher choosing a few meats (my choices were always prosciutto and mortadella), after the butcher I would stop at the cheese shop and pick out a few cheeses (mostly I would choose cheese we couldn’t get here in the US or those I have not yet tasted), then the bakery for a fresh loaf of crusty Italian bread and last but not least off for a delicious bottle of wine … then off to one of the many beautiful parks for a quiet little picnic. Wow! What an awesome time I had!
When I came back to the States, I tried to find charcuterie that compared to that I had in Italy … all I have to say … there was nothing that compared! Until, this week!

Note: Charcuterie is becoming a lost art but through efforts of many chefs this wonderful process of curing meats is being brought back and savored!

I chose prosciutto, mortadella and salami knowing I can turn these delicious meats into a delicious meal for two at, what turns out to be, a very reasonable price per person. I also chose the Fra Mani label because of their choice in farmers with sustainable practices and that is right up my Real Food alley! The only thing that would make this better is finding a traditional curemaster here in South Carolina, pièce de résistance!
Since my mouth was watering just knowing I had a nice bit of prosciutto in my refrigerator, I decided to make a Prosciutto, Spinach and Three Cheese Pizza for supper! OMG! Is all I can say!
Here is what I did:

Note: Once again, when I make pizza I don’t measure so you will not find measurements in this recipe. Just go by your tastes and what your family enjoys!

Ingredients:

  • A nice lob of dough (about the size of a grapefruit ) from our 5 Minutes a Day for Fresh Bread recipe;
  • Corn Meal (while I’m still working out the corn GMO thing I had some leftover in my frig that needed to be used up, remember I don’t throw away anything LOL)
  • Olive Oil
  • Garlic Powder
  • Red Pepper Flakes
  • Salt and Pepper, to taste (use salt sparingly, the cheeses and prosciutto are salty on their own) 
  • Prosciutto, thinly sliced
  • Homemade Ricotta Cheese (seasoned with garlic powder, fresh parsley, salt and pepper)
  • Gouda Cheese, grated
  • Parmigiano Reggiano, grated
  • Organic Spinach, washed, dried and cut into ribbons
  • Fresh Basil Leaves
Directions:
Preheat oven to 500 degrees.
Dust a cutting board with a generous amount of cornmeal. Take your lob of dough and roll it around in the cornmeal so it doesn’t stick and start to stretch it out with your hands (or you can use a rolling pen) until to have your desired size. I usually make them larger than a personal size but a tad bit smaller than a small pizza. Transfer to a pizza pan or baking sheet, let rest for a few minutes while you mix up your olive oil, grate your cheeses and cut up the spinach.
Put a generous amount of olive oil in a small bowl and whisk in garlic powder and red pepper flakes, a pinch of salt and pepper to taste.
Using a small basting brush, generously baste your olive oil mixture on your prepared dough, top with the Homemade Ricotta Cheese, a generous amount of spinach, your grated cheeses and finally layer your prosciutto slices on top.
Drizzle just a small amount of the olive oil mixture on top and put in the oven for about 10 to 15 minutes, depending on how generous you were with the toppings LOL! When the crust is golden brown and the cheeses are melted it’s time to take your pizza out of the oven.
Garnish with fresh basil leaves, a drizzle more of the olive oil mixture and viola, one of the most delicious pizzas to ever hit your taste buds!

Note: When making pizza use your creativity and come up with winning combinations that will truly impress and please your family.

Do you have a winning combination for pizza making?
See you in the Comments!

Mrs R




amzn_assoc_placement = “adunit0”; amzn_assoc_enable_interest_ads = “true”; amzn_assoc_tracking_id = “simlifwitmrsr-20”; amzn_assoc_ad_mode = “auto”; amzn_assoc_ad_type = “smart”; amzn_assoc_marketplace = “amazon”; amzn_assoc_region = “US”; amzn_assoc_textlinks = “”; amzn_assoc_linkid = “ba40b2813becb8c2067a6669bf6fc5c1”; amzn_assoc_emphasize_categories = “51569011,2619525011,2617941011,165796011,3760911,1000,13900861,130,16310101,3760901,1055398,3367581,133140011,284507,195209011,599858,301668,1064954,2972638011,2619533011,672123011,229534,3375251,228013,165793011,377110011”; amzn_assoc_fallback_mode = {“type”:”search”,”value”:”Ingredients, directions, menopause, midlife, travel, charleston, denver, cherokee, grief, addiction, cancer, son, nephew, tea, tb, cup, cups, day trip, mrs, r, mrs r, cooking, travel, finances, DIY, projects, simplify, life, chaotic, world, carla, rexroth”}; amzn_assoc_default_category = “All”;
//z-na.amazon-adsystem.com/widgets/onejs?MarketPlace=US

One thought on “Prosciutto, Spinach and Three Cheese Pizza

Leave a Reply

