Just Call Me the Crazy Chicken Lady!

This post was featured on Sunday Snippets! How cool is that! Thank you so much!

 I just have to say I have had such a wonderful time watching my little girls grow up! Man … and they grow fast! The short time I have spent as a chicken farmer has been nothing short of simplistic joy!

So far, I have experienced with multiple varieties of kitchen scraps and have found that radish greens and spinach are amongst my girls favs. They have also been getting a bowl of whey every evening and really gobble it up!
 
We are working on an additional pen and fenced walk thru to help in the pasturing process so they can forage their happy little selves content. With seven (7) dogs, in chicken training, we have decided it best to keep building fencing just as an extra precaution from any feisty dogs looking for a playmate. The dogs have been good so far and most of their antics have been that of curiosity but as the adage goes “an ounce of prevention equals a pound of cure” so I look at fencing as my ounce of prevention. The girls get to forage and momma keeps her piece of mind LOL!
The girls are 6 weeks old and should start laying at about 17 to 18 weeks. So I’m counting down for my first egg. I can’t wait to see the quality of my eggs as I’m as strict on the girls diet as I am my own and hope to see the outcome of my efforts.
I am feeding them non-GMO poultry feed that I order through my local Feed N Seed Store and as many kitchens scraps as they can handle, all organics of course. I also supplement them with whey for the extra nutrients.
My girls are happy, healthy little chickens who appear to be growing at the speed of light! I can’t wait to show you my first egg!
While I have been diligently tending to my chickens, I have also been watching a momma cardinal who built a nest very close to my pen and her progress. I have been very lucky to photograph each event as it has happened! I think this is a rare event as in my 50 years I’ve never been able to catch any of our wild birds go through the hatching process. I feel blessed to be able to witness this with my own two eyes and my camera, of course, and share it with our readers!
I hope you enjoy it as much as I do!


    
What awe inspiring event have you witnessed in your backyard? I’d love for you to share your story in our comment section below!

This post shared on Fat Tuesday

Leave a Reply

