“Super Foods” has been re-coined as “Hero Foods” by Chef Seamus Mullen

Sweet peas, good eggs, mushrooms and stone fruit, i.e. peaches are among a few of his favorites as well as olive oil, oily fish, like sardines and anchovies, leafy greens and almonds.
Blueberries, raspberries, strawberries, cranberries, grapes, and blackberries also make the list of “Super Foods” for health as well as leafy greens such as kale, broccoli, chard, dandelion greens, escarole/endive, parsley, chicory, mustard greens, spinach, collards, dark green lettuces, such as romaine, beet greens and bok choy (my favorite bok choy is baby bok choy)
I have to stress two very important factors in purchasing “Super Foods.” Organic is always the way to go and farm, fresh just kicks it up a notch! Now think about this; if these “Super Foods” are good for us and can help enhance a healthy lifestyle, then why on earth would we want to add poisons and chemicals to alter their natural chemical make up.  We are changing the genetic make up of our foods by the chemicals and poisons that are used to produce these foods.  This is why organic “Super Foods” are the best from a nutritional stand point.
I have totally stopped buying conventional produce altogether and only purchase organics. I feel this is very important for my health and the health of my family. Besides, they taste sooooooo much better! It’s amazing how your tastebuds can tell the difference once you become accustom to the pure taste of fresh organic produce.
Chef Mullen’s “Hero Foods” sparked my attention because I, too, have onset rheumatoid arthritis and while I have incorporated many of the “Hero Foods” he suggests into my diet I really feel a difference and find that I have fewer and fewer flare ups.
You can scoop up a few of Seamus’ recipes here and here are few from Rachael Ray and a few other celebrity chefs! I plan on making the Citrus Couscous and some sautéed organic spinach to go with my Roasted Grass-Fed Chicken tonight! I’ll let you know how it turns out!
What “Super Foods” have you incorporated into your daily diet? Do you address any health issues with the use of these “Super Foods?” Let us know in the comment section below!
You might also like to read: Super Fruits and Vegetables

Leave a Reply

