Tuna Salad on Naan Bread w/ Homemade Avocado Dressing

I try to serve fish/shellfish at least once a week. Not every week is it in my grocery budget and during a “cheap week” like that I head to my go to fish by Sustainable Seas. Sustainable Seas Tuna is a: 

“delicious solid white and solid light tunas sourced from fisheries which employ sustainable pole and troll fishing techniques. These methods ensure that the tuna are caught without the incidental bycatch of other sea life — seabirds, sharks and sea turtles and others. Sustainable fishing preserves the delicate marine environment and aids in the repopulation of endangered species.”

I found this at Earth Fare and I have to say I have never tasted a better canned tuna. Also, their cans are BPA Free.
So for dinner last night I made Tuna Salad on homemade Naan Bread using our 5 Minute a Day for Fresh Bread Recipe and a tossed salad with Homemade Avocado Dressing. OMG! Is all I can say! It was sooo delish!
Here is my Tuna Salad Recipe. I hope you enjoy it!
Ingredients: (quantities not exact, this recipe goes by tastes and the amount you want to make)
2 cans Sustainable Seas Tuna, I used Albacore Tuna
1 medium organic onion, diced
3 stalks organic celery, diced
Juice of ½ organic lemon
Zest of ½ organic lemon
Garlic powder, to taste
Sea Salt and Pepper, to taste
Directions:
Add all ingredients to a mixing bowl stir lightly to break up tuna. Be careful not to break the tuna up too much you want to leave some chunks. Adjust the seasonings and mayonnaise to taste.  Chill before serving. It’s just that easy!
You can get creative with the Naan Bread, you can roll it jelly roll style or simply just fold over half to make a sandwich. I’ve done both it just depends on how creative and hungry I am at the time!
Easy Lunch Idea:  Make extra Tuna Salad, Naan Bread and Salad to pack in your lunch the next day! Make sure you pack the Tuna Salad and Naan Bread separately so bread doesn’t get soggy.  At lunch time, just make your sandwich, top with the leftover salad and if you feel ambitious add a dollop of Avocado Dressing. Voila! A healthy lunch alternative!

Do you have any creative ways to use canned tuna?

See you in the Comments!

Mrs. R

One thought on “Tuna Salad on Naan Bread w/ Homemade Avocado Dressing

Leave a Reply

