Heavenly and Healthy Chicken Soup


If heaven existed in a bowl this would be it!  I made this last night for dinner and it was truly delish! I’ve made a lot of chicken soup in my life but I think by adding coconut water it took this soup over the top!
I have to be honest here … a funny little story … last week I purchase a couple of containers of coconut water. I have been reading about all the nutritional benefits and wanted to give it a try. Well, when I was preparing my chicken soup I decided I would drink a container of the coconut water I bought and give it a taste. Yuck is all I have to say … I really didn’t like it at all … it could have been the brand but I’m not too sure. Anyway, here I have an 8oz container and I certainly didn’t want to waste it sooooo I just dumped it into my chicken soup and hoped for the best. OMG! Is all I can say … it took my usual chicken soup recipe and totally brought it over the top! The coconut water imparted a very mellow sweetness and a very slight coconut taste. I think the next time I’ll add just a little bit of lemongrass for an Asian inspired dish!
Here’s the recipe. I hope you enjoy it as much as we did!
Ingredients:
(the measurements aren’t exact because I really don’t measure when making chicken soup but you can judge to your taste and the amount of soup you want to make)
4 cups homemade chicken stock
3 cups of cooked organic chicken (I used leftover Roasted Chicken)
1 to 1 ½ cups Organic Carrots, cut into bit size pieces
1 to 1 ½ cups Organic Celery, cut into bit size pieces
1 Organic Sweet Onion, roughly diced
1 to 1 ½ cups of frozen Organic Peas
2 cloves of garlic, minced
1 teaspoon poultry seasoning
1 teaspoon cayenne pepper (or to taste)
Sea Salt and pepper, to taste
Splash of farm fresh cream
Finely Grated Parmesan Reggiano, to garnish 
Chopped Organic Parsley, to garnish
Directions:
In a medium to large stainless steel pot add all the above ingredients, simmer on low to medium low heat until carrots and celery are tender. Plate each serving, add a splash of farm fresh cream and garnish with cheese and parsley, to taste. Voila!
You can also make extra and freeze it for a quick and easy meal during those busy weeknights! Add some homemade bread or flat bread (naan) using our 5Minutes a Day for Fresh Bread Recipe and a tossed salad for a complete meal.

Do you have a favorite soup or stew recipe?

See you in the comments!

Mrs. R

Leave a Reply

