OUR FOOD CHOICES AND OUR MENTAL HEALTH

As I stated in my previous post Super Fruits and Vegetables; the chemicals, preservatives and poisons that are used in most of our processed foods affect our Mental Health.  Our food choices can affect our Energy, Mood, and our Concentration.  Many people are very sensitive to these chemicals and poisons and don’t even know it. 

There is a lot of research that suggest that the foods, drinks, chemicals and poisons we put in our bodies can greatly affect our Mental Health.  Did you know that there are more than 3 times as many Americans living with some type of mental disorder today than there was just 2 decades ago.  Wow that is amazing.  What do you think could be the cause of this?  Let’s take a look at the facts:

The facts below are from Wikipedia:

  • In the late 20th century Americans began to become a nation of convenience.                   The food processing companies targeted the middle class working wives and mothers.  They promised us the convenience of a quick, wholesome meal that our families would love.  This started the TV dinner era.
  • After the TV dinner era came the Fast Food Chain era.  Even though one of the first Fast Food chains in America, White Castle, was opened in 1916, it was not until after World War II that America became obsessed with Fast Food.  (we have McDonald’s to thank for that).

Once this trend began Americans became more and more dependent on Fast Food and processed foods to meet our families nutritional needs (but did we really?)  Americans started eating on the go.  The family dinner became ever more a thing of the past.  As we Americans strive for the All- American Dream we started working longer hours, eating more Fast or Processed food and gave our families less natural foods.  If you look at the time line of Americans Health decline and compare that to The Fast Food and Processed Food timeline I think you will be amazed what you find.  It is time to take back our food and do our part in providing our families with healthy all natural less process foods.   As more people become Real Food Pioneers I promise you that you will start a trend that will not only have Americans living healthier but over all our Health cost will have to come down. 

I know that as I have started to transition myself to less process more natural foods I have felt better.  I have had more energy, I am more focused than I have been in a long time.  My partner has noticed this change as well.  I can recall days when I could not get out of bed and when I did it was to grab some pre-made processed meal and then it was back to bed.  I know that there are many of you out there that know exactly what I am saying.   

As Americans turned more to fast food the industry had to keep up with the demand.  So the fast food industry as well as the food industry in whole began to think on how they could reduce cost and raise production of their products.  It is amazing some of the steps that the food industry took for the almighty dollar.  The FDA’s regulations and inspections of food producing plants and farms has decreased greatly over the last 3 decades.  Americans began getting chemically treated fruits and vegetables, meat that comes from animals that eat food that is not natural to their diet and is treated with antibiotics, steroids and other chemicals.  We are told that in low levels these antibiotics, steroids and other chemicals are not harmful to us.  Well I for one do not believe it. 

Anyone who suffers from a Mental disorder knows that we already have a Chemical imbalance in our brains.  Why on earth would we want to complicate the problem with adding more Chemicals to our diet.  I do not think and I hope that others will agree that no Chemical that is created by man can be healthy for us and not cause us problems.  As I take this journey I am anxious to find out if I can change my dependency on man made medication to treat my Bi-Polar disorder.  I hope that you will continue to follow me and watch for my results.

Leave a Reply

